Limited edition $20 Note to commemorate Singapore’s Bicentennial

By June 6, 2019Current

TL;DR – The limited edition $20 note will be available from 10 June 2019 onwards.

As part of the Singapore Bicentennial commemoration, the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) has launched a commemorative $20 note to celebrate the 200th anniversary of Sir Stamford Raffles’ arrival in Singapore.

Note Design

The front of the commemorative note features a portrait of Mr Yusof Ishak, Singapore’s first President, alongside the former Supreme Court and City Hall, which are now the National Gallery Singapore.

These two national monuments witnessed many key events in Singapore’s passage to nationhood, including the swearing-in of the state government in 1963 and Singapore’s first national day parade in 1966.

The back of the note showcases eight pioneering individuals – Munshi Abdullah, Tan Kah Kee, Teresa Hsu Chih, Adnan Saidi, Ruth Wong Hie King, Alice Pennefather, P. Govindasamy Pillai, and Henry Nicholas Ridley – who were part of a broad cast who arrived from different lands and made significant contributions to nation building in diverse areas ranging from education, culture and community service to sports and defending Singapore.

The eight individuals are portrayed against a backdrop of the old Singapore River, flowing into present-day Singapore. The river was at the heart of Singapore’s development as a trading port, and later our transformation into a business and financial hub.

Designed by local artists Mr Eng Siak Loy and Mr Weng Ziyan, the $20 commemorative note also features a multi-coloured lattice-work that reflects Singapore’s rich and diverse cultural tapestry.

The ‘20’ denomination, Singapore Coat of Arms, Singapore Bicentennial logo, and the years ‘1819’ and ‘2019’ are depicted in gold with dynamic optical effects in a security stripe.

Availability of Note

From 10 June 2019 onwards, two million pieces of the commemorative note will available for public exchange at face value at following banks in Singapore:

  • DBS Bank Limited / POSB
  • Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited
  • United Overseas Bank Limited
  • Bank of China Limited
  • Citibank Singapore Limited
  • Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited Singapore Branch
  • Maybank Singapore Limited
  • Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore) Limited
  • HSBC Bank (Singapore) Limited

Each individual is allowed to exchange up to 20 pieces of the note per transaction.

5,000 Numismatic Sets

In addition, there will be 5,000 limited edition numismatic sets available for sale.

Each numismatic set contains one uncut sheet of three Singapore $20 commemorative notes.

Pre-orders can be placed with The Singapore Mint from 5 June to 13 June 2019. If oversubscribed, the numismatic currency sets will be allocated by balloting.

The sets will be available for collection from 20 June 2019.


Don't be selfish... Click here to share this on Facebook!

If you like what you read, follow us on Facebook to get the latest updates.


Author JW

I am nice, most of the time!

More posts by JW

Leave a Reply